Bengaluru (Karnataka): What lies ahead for the four-month-old BS Yediyurappa-led BJP government in Karnataka will be revealed today (December 9) after the results of votes from the by-polls to 15 Assembly constituencies.

In the first hour of counting, BJP had taken the lead in at least 10 constituencies. While an independent candidate took the lead in Hosakote, Congress and JD(S) were leading in two constituencies each.

By-elections were held in Athani, Kagwad, Gokak, Yellapura, Hirekerur, Ranibennur, Vijaynagara, Chikkballapur, KR Pur, Yeshwanthpur, Mahalakshmi Layout, Shivajinagar, Hosakote, KR Pete and Hunsur on December 5.

Counting of the votes commenced at 8am today with postal ballots and results are likely to be declared by the afternoon. The results will not just decide the fate of BJP government in the state but also of those thirteen rebel MLAs who had sought the re-election following their resignation from the erstwhile Congress-JD(S) coalition.

Karnataka chief minister BS Yediyurappa confidently said that BJP will win at least 13 seats and the government will be "safeguarded".

The elections were held for 15 Assembly seats that fell vacant after 17 legislators resigned in July, triggering the collapse of the Congress-JD(S) coalition and paved the way for the BJP to come to power.

Resignations tendered by the MLAs had reduced the majority mark in the 224-strong Assembly to 104.

The BJP with its 105 MLAs formed the government in the state. At present, there are 207 MLAs in Karnataka Assembly with 104 required for a majority. With the election of 15 MLAs, the number of MLAs in the Assembly would go up to 222.

With that, the BJP would require 112 MLAs for a majority in the Assembly.

(With ANI inputs)