Bengaluru: After turbulent days during its tenure of 14 months, the Congress-JD(S) coalition government in Karnataka collapsed as 17 MLAs from its ranks and two independents withdrew their support.
Assembly Speaker Ramesh Kumar even disqualified them (14 Congress MLAs, 3 JD(S) MLAs and two independents). With this move, the Congress and JD(S) had a last laugh as the ban on these rebelling MLAs has been extended till the expiry of the present term (May 2023).
But on the other hand, troubles seem to hit the peak for the coalition as several corporators in Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike (BBMP) who are staunch supporters of a few disqualified MLAs are mulling resignations as a show of solidarity for their masters. At least 10 corporators are ready to resign.

Here's the list:


Supporters of:

Velunayakar (Congress), GK Venkatesh (Congress)

Muniratna (Congress)

Shrikanth (Congress)

Byrathi Basavaraj (Congress)

Gunashekar (Congress)

Roshan Baig (Congress)

Gangamma (JDS), Hemalatha (JDS)

Gopalaiah JD(S)

Rajanna (Congress), Vasudev (Congress), Arya Srinivas (Congress)

ST Somashekar (Congress)


GK Venkatesh, one of the corporators who are mulling to put in their papers told a local TV channel, “We have to be with our MLA, come what may. We also must consult our electorate. We will decide on the future course of action and let you know.”
Speaker Kumar had disqualified the 11 Congress MLAs and 3 JD(S) MLAs and two independent MLAs till May 2023. However, they have approached the Supreme Court.
With this prospect, the BJP hopes to make inroads soon.
Sreenath Sheshadri, a BJP spokesperson said, “We have the majority in the BBMP council. If these corporators resign, it will be a further blow on the morale of the coalition, who are already battered by the spree of resignations. We will certainly explore opportunities.”
The BBMP has 198 wards. In the last elections that were held, BJP won 101 seats, Congress won 76, while JD(S) and independents won 14 and seven seats respectively.