Jharkhand election results 2019 live updates: JMM+ crosses the majority mark

Jharkhand polls: Counting for 81 seats to begin at 8 am

10:11 AM IST

The JMM-Congress prepoll alliance touches the 41 mark

The JMM-Congress has hit the halfway mark with 41 seats 

10:01 AM IST

BJP keeping all options open

Sources say BJP gets in touch with Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (JVM) chief Babulal Marandi. 

9:37 AM IST

BJP sitting pretty at 32 seats

JMM-Cong is leading with 32 seats, while the BJP sits at 32, JVM at 5 while AJSU at 6 

8:38 AM IST

AJSU has not ruled out making a post-poll alliance with the BJP

In a massive fillip for the BJP, the All Jharkhand Students Union (AJSU) is sending feelers to the BJP to form a BJP in case of a hung assembly 

8:27 AM IST

BJP ahead in 13 seats

In the first hour of counting, BJP is ahead in 13 seats  

8:15 AM IST

In Dumka, early trends suggest Hemant Soren is leading

Hemant Soren leading in Dumka, early trends suggest

8:02 AM IST

Counting begins in Jharkhand

Counting for 81 seats begings in Jharkhand 

7:37 AM IST

Heavy security deployed at Pandra market yard

Heavy security deployment at Pandra market yard. It is being used as a strong room for seven constituencies 

7:10 AM IST

What happens if there is a hung assembly?

In case of a hung assembly, AJSU and JVM-P might emerge the key players. 

7:08 AM IST

9 rallies by BJP, 6 by Congress

PM Narendra Modi and BJP president Amit Shah held 9 rallies while Congress's Rahul Gandhi held 6 rallies 

7:02 AM IST

Jharkhand registers voter turnout of 65.17

A voter turnout of 65.17 was registered across the 5 phases in the Jharkhand polls 

6:48 AM IST

Dhanwar is JVM-P president Babulal Marandi's seat

JVM-P president Babulal Marandi is fighting from Dhanwar Assembly seat

6:46 AM IST

The other important seats

JMM’s Hemant Soren is contesting from Dumka and Barhet 

6:43 AM IST

CM Raghubar Das contesting from Jamshedpur East

CM Raghubar Das is contesting from Jamshedpur East. He hasn't lost there since 1995. 

6:40 AM IST

Big day for CM Raghubar Das

Incumbent CM Raghubar Das is the first CM to complete a full 5-year term since the state was formed 

6:36 AM IST

Counting to begin at 8 am

The counting for the 5-phase Jharkhand polls to begin at 8 am 

All roads lead to Jharkhand as the counting of votes for 81 constituencies will begin at 8 am. The state voted in 5 phases from November 30 to December 20.  We give you all the live updates