New Delhi: Jammu, Kashmir and Ladakh are officially Union Territories after President Ram Nath Kovind gave his assent to The Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation Act, 2019 on Friday.

The President’s assent read that the Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation Act, 2019 from Friday (August 9) makes Jammu, Kashmir and Ladakh, Union Territories.

Meanwhile, after five days of a continued lockdown in the Valley post the Centre's decision to abrogate Article 370, Section 144 was withdrawn.

The Jammu District Magistrate on Friday relaxed curfew within municipal limits of the districts allowing all academic institutions to resume their functions from August 10.

In a notification issued on Friday, Jammu DM Sushma Chauhan said, “The order…dated 05-08-2019 issued under section 144 CrPC within Municipal Limits of Jammu District is hereby withdrawn. Further, all the schools, colleges and academic institutions closed may resume their functioning from 10-08-2019 normally.”

Hours before the Centre revoked Article 370, Jammu and Kashmir was put under curfew in a bid to prevent any possible mass protest that may disturb the law and order situation.

The Centre decided to restrict the movements of the people in the state and cut all the communication channels. According to reports, restrictions were eased for few hours in Kashmir for Friday prayers.

National Security Advisor (NSA) Ajit Doval, who has been camping in Srinagar since Tuesday, talked to locals and security personnel during a quick tour of the sensitive downtown area on Friday.