New Delhi: 10 years after India saw its first Rs 10 coin, it will now see the new 20-rupee coin. The finance ministry has issued a notification announcing the release of this new denomination.

The ministry has said that the coin will be a 12-sided pentagon, known as 'dodecagon' and will resemble the current Rs 10 coin.

However, the common factors between the Rs 10 coin and the new Rs 20 coin will be the fact that both are two-toned with the outer ring containing 65% copper and, 15% zinc and 20% nickel, the inner circle containing 75% copper, 20% zinc and 5% nickel. The new coin will also measure 27mm in diameter, just like the Rs 10 coin.

The Rs 20 coin will weigh 8.54 grams and on the obverse it will bear the Lion Capitol of Ashoka Pillar with 'Satyamev Jayate' inscribed below.

The inscription will be flanked with the words 'Bharat' in Hindi on the left and the word 'India' in English on the right.

On the reverse of the coin, the rupee symbol will be shown above the denominational value and there will be grains designed on the left periphery of the coin to depict the country's agricultural dominance.

Rs 20 in Hindi and 'TWENTY RUPEES' in English will be inscribed on the top right and bottom right peripheries of the coin. The year of minting will be shown on centre of the left periphery.

The announcement for the new coin comes ten years after the first Rs 10 coin was issued in March 2009. There have been 13 iterations of the coin since then.

Reports of how traders believed the new editions were fake had gone viral on social media a few of months ago. The Reserve Bank of India had later issued a clarification saying that all 14 kinds of the Rs 10 coin is legal tender. Despite which, there seems to be hesitation in accepting this tender.

The government will also release the new series of prototypes for Re 1, Rs 2, Rs 5 and Rs 10 coins.