Bengaluru: At a time when China attacked India at the Galwan Valley, suffering 43 casualties and killing 20 Indian soldiers and tensions are at an all-time high, India has been voted as a non-permanent member of the UN Security Council. It won 184 votes in the 193-member General Assembly.

Other countries that have made it are Ireland, Mexico and Norway. 

The United States congratulated India on the victory: “Member States elect India to the non-permanent seat of the Security Council for the term 2021-22 with overwhelming support. India gets 184 out of the 192 valid votes polled,” India's Permanent Mission to the UN tweeted.

Narendra Modi also expressed his happiness at the victory. 

He said in this tweet: “Deeply grateful for the overwhelming support shown by the global community for India's membership of the UNSC.” 


India will sit in the most powerful UN organ, for two years beginning on January 1, along with the five permanent members China, France, Russia, UK and the US as well as non-permanent members Estonia, Niger, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Tunisia and Vietnam.

It should be noted that, to be elected to the Council, candidate countries need a two-thirds majority of ballots of Member States that are present and voting in the Assembly.

Previously, India has been elected as a non-permanent member of the Council for the years 1950-1951, 1967-1968, 1972-1973, 1977-1978, 1984-1985, 1991-1992 and most recently in 2011-2012.

The election victory is important for India because it can raise its voice against terrorism as it has been a victim of it for a long time. 
India might also use it to cut China to task as it shares a bonhomie with Pakistan while attacking India at its borders. 

Being a non-member also helps India increase its proximity wit the real power.