Bengaluru: In a major victory for India, it got elected as the member of the United Nations’ Commission on Status of Women (CSW), a body of the Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC).  

India, Afghanistan and China had contested the elections, but China did not win. 

India and Afghanistan won the elections, while China failed to cross the half-way mark. 

Reportedly, India got 38 votes and Afghanistan secured 39 votes in 54 ballots cast for seats in the Asia Pacific category for the membership of ECOSOC.

A jubilant TS Tirumurti, the Permanent Representative of India to the United Nations, said, “India wins seat in prestigious ECOSOC body! India elected member of Commission on Status of Women (CSW). It’s a ringing endorsement of our commitment to promote gender equality and women’s empowerment in all our endeavours. We thank member states for their support.”


The win for India becomes very important as it comes in the silver jubilee year of the Beijing conference. It is the 25th anniversary of the famous Beijing World Conference on Women (1995), India Today noted. 

India will be a member of the United Nation’s Commission on Status of Women for four years, 2021 to 2025.

The Commission on the Status of Women (CSW or UNCSW) is a functional commission of the ECOSOC, one of the main UN organs within the United Nations. The UNCSW is described as the UN organ promoting gender equality and the empowerment of women.

India had been voted as a non-permanent member of the UN Security Council. It won 184 votes in the 193-member General Assembly. This event took place in June.