Bengaluru: Even before the one-day Janatha Curfew announced by Prime Minister Narendra Modi ended, the Indian government announced a total lockdown of all coronavirus hit districts in the country.

As of now 75 districts will be hit by the lockdown. Telangana government has already announced that the Janatha Curfew will continue till the end of March. The Karnataka government too has announced a total shutdown till March 31. Seven districts of Kerala will also be under lockdown to prevent the spread of infection in the state.

Cabinet Secretary today reviewed the COVID-19 status with Chief Secretaries of states and a slew of decisions were taken which included complete lockdown in 75 districts across the country. These districts have either reported confirmed cases or casualties relating to COVID-19. Only essential services will be allowed in these 75 districts.

State governments will issue orders allowing only essential services to operate in about 75 districts with confirmed COVID-19 cases or casualties.

Karnataka and Maharashtra have decided to impose Section 144 beginning tomorrow.

Kerala has announced a total lockdown in about six districts including capital city Trivandrum and commercial capital Ernakulam.

Earlier in the day, the Railways declared that it was suspending all the services while most cities have suspended metro train services. The Indian Railways said that only goods train will run.

On the other hand, the government has announced the suspension of inter-state bus services in the wake of coronavirus spreading like wildfire. Most states have already sealed borders.

The total number of novel coronavirus cases in India rose to 341 on Sunday after fresh cases were reported from various parts of the country, the Union health ministry said. The total includes 41 foreign nationals and six deaths.