Bengaluru: Just when the Congress thought that the dust had settled as regards the Rajasthan political impasse and heaving a sigh of relief, there is another headache brewing for the grand old party as six of its sitting MLAs in the Manipur State Assembly have tendered their resignation and quit the party, reports Times of India. 

"Six Cong MLAs of Manipur have submitted their resignation letters to the Congress office," Hareshwar Goshwami, General Secretary, Manipur Pradesh Congress Committee,” the website adds. 

The six MLAs included Okram henry Singh, nephew of the Congress Legislature Party (CLP) leader and former chief minister Okram Ibobi Singh. Other MLAs included Oinam Lukhoi, Md Abdul Nasir, Paonam Brojen, Ngamthang Haokip and Ginsuanhau.

It is to be noted that all the six MLAs were among the eight Congress MLAs who had on Monday (10 August) defied the whip issued by the party to vote against the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-led N Biren Singh Government in a trust vote which the incumbent Government easily sailed through.

Reason for resigning: 

As reported by a popular website, they cited lack of trust in the leadership of Ibobi Singh because of whom the Congress failed to form the government even when it was the single largest party in the year 2017. 

Biren Singh wins trust vote: 

It was just yesterday that Biren Singh, the CM of Manipur, won the trust vote. 

Congress manages to save government in Rajasthan: 

A day of glee turned into gloom for the grand old party as it salvaged to save its Rajasthan government, with the return of rebelling Sachin Pilot back into the party fold. 

Congress welcomed him back with both hands and even formed a 3-member panel to look into his grouses. 

The fight between chief minister Ashok Gehlot and Sachin Pilot had become a matter of public debate earlier as the CM had openly rebuked Sachin Pilot.