Bengaluru: The Lok Sabha today suspended as many as seven Congress members for their misdemeanour. 

The members in question had snatched papers and flung it at the Speaker’s chair. They had also resorted to disrupt house proceedings. 

The seven Congress members are: TN Pratapan – Member of Parliament from Thrissur, Kerala; Benny Behnan – Member of Parliament from Chalakudy, Kerala;  Dean Kuriakose – Member of Parliament from Idukki, Kerala; Rajmohan Unnithan – Member of Parliament from Kasargod Kerala, Gaurav Gogoi – Member of Parliament from Kaliabor, Assam; Manickam Tagore – Member of Parliament from Virudhunagar, Tamil Nadu and Gurjit Aujla – Member of Parliament from Amritsar, Punjab. 

The move to suspend them till the end of existing Budget session was approved by a voice vote. The suspension comes under rule 374. 

Parliamentary Affairs minister Pralhad Joshi had moved a resolution in this regard. 

Speaker Om Birla had said in this regard, “Opposition parties must clarify whether placards should be brought in the House or not. Strict action will be taken against the MPs, be it of any party, who come to the well of the House. They will be suspended for the entire session.”

The protests in the lower house took place in relation to the Delhi riots that consumed the lives of 47 people and injured more than a hundred people. 

The riots also saw the deaths of IB officer Ankit Sharma and police constable Ratan. 

Just like the ruckus in the house was carried out by the Congress members, the riots in Delhi were also, as alleged by the BJP, carried out by Congress. 

They were ably supported by people like Sonia Gandhi adviser Harsh Mander who openly gave a call for incitement. 

Rahul Gandhi, the former AICC chief also took a riot tour of the place only yesterday (March 4) after ten days of the riot. He was in Italy while Delhi burnt.