Amaravathi: The Election Commission has issued orders for the transfer of yet another IPS officer in Andhra Pradesh with just two days before the state is set to go for Assembly and Lok Sabha polls.

The EC on Tuesday issued transfer orders for Prakasam district SP Koya Praveen. The transfer came two weeks after the EC had issued transfer orders for three IPS officers, namely intelligence director general AB Venkateswara Rao, Kadapa superintendent of police (SP) Rahul Dev Sharma and Srikakulam SP Venkata Ratnam.

These IPS officers were transferred after the YSR Congress Party leaders accused them of working in favour of the ruling Telugu Desam Party (TDP) in the state. The poll body also ordered the transfer of Srinivas Rao, the circle inspector (CI) of Tadepalli in Guntur district.

Speaking to the media, the EC officials, while confirming the transfers, said the two officers have been assigned with non-election duties.

It can be noted that Tadepalli falls under Mangalagiri Assembly constituency, the seat from where the state's IT minister Nara Lokesh will be contesting in the upcoming polls.

Earlier, the YSRCP had claimed that Tadepalli CI was acting in favour of the ruling party.

Polling for the 175-member Andhra Pradesh Assembly is scheduled to be held on April 11 concurrently with the Lok Sabha polls. The counting of votes will take place on May 23.