Bengaluru: With the JD(S) deciding to launch former Prime Minister HD Deve Gowda's grandson Nikhil Kumaraswamy into politics in Karnataka, it is clear that the JD(S) will never come out of its dynasty politics.

The psephologists, public, and political opponents have used this move to hit out at the JD(S) and also expressed displeasure over democracy as it failed to lay any restriction on dynastic politics.

Coming down heavily on the JD(S) for such a move, Sandeep Shastri, Jain University pro vice-chancellor says, Karnataka, in particular, suffers from 'son to grandson stroke'.

"The JD(S) is by and large seen as the party of 'only family members'. This factor may not dent the Congress-JD(S) coalition as people have understood the promotion of only family members in to politics, however the public will watch for performances these days," said Shastri.

Echoing similar sentiments, Muzaffar Assadi, head of the department, political science, Mysuru University, says it is the democracy set up that has provided scope for political parties to keep the dynastic tradition alive.

"Democracy allows the parties to legitimise family politics. Like anti-defection law, it is the need of the hour for change in law and to contain dynastic politics," he opined.

The saddest part is that these trends which by and large in the JD(S) are also seen in the Congress and BJP. Mallikarjun Kharge is a seven-time MP from Karnataka and now his son Priyank Kharge is a minister in HD Kumaraswamy's government.

Former CM Siddaramaiah launched his son Dr Yathindra from Varuna in last year’s Assembly elections in Karnataka. Similarly, the state BJP president BS Yeddyurappa's elder son BY Raghavendra is a Lok Sabha MP from Shivamogga.

Although leaders in the Congress and BJP have promoted family members into politics, it is the JD(S) that has become synonymous with 'family politics'.

BJP leader and spokesperson S Prakash said that the saffron party never believed in dynasty politics and to send a strong message that it will not tolerate such a trend, the party high command denied ticket to Yeddyurappa's son BY Vijayendra from Hanur.

Dynasty politics cases in a nutshell


JDS family politics

HD Deve Gowda — Former PM, presently sitting MP from Hassan

HD Kumaraswamy — Son of Deve Gowda and chief minister of Karnataka

Anitha Kumaraswamy — Wife of HDK and sitting MLA Ramanagara

HD Revanna — Son of HD Deve Gowda and Power Minister

Nikhil — Son of Kumaraswamy, set to be launched as MP candidate from Mandya

Prajwal Revanna — Son of HD Revanna (son of Deve Gowda and brother of Kumaraswamy), will be launched as MP candidate from Hassan


Congress family politics

Mallikarjun Kharge — Former Karnataka Minister and sitting MP from Gulbarga

Priyank Kharge — Two-time MLA and a minister in Kumaraswamy cabinet

Siddaramaiah — Former Karnataka chief minister and MLA from Badami

Yathindra — Son of Siddaramaiah and Varuna MLA

N Dharam Singh — Late former Karnataka chief minister

Ajay Singh — Son of Dharam Singh and sitting MLA from Jewargi

Satish Jarkiholi — Minister and MLA from Yemkanmardi

Ramesh Jarkiholi — Brother of Satish Jarkiholi and Gokak MLA



BS Yeddyurappa — Former Karnataka chief minister

BY Raghavendra — Son of Yeddyurappa and MP from Shivamogga

BY  Vijayendra — BJP leader and aspirant from Varuna Assembly constituency

Janardhana Reddy — Former minister

Karunakar Reddy — Former minister and brother of Janardhana Reddy

Somashekar Reddy — MLA, Ballari city, and brother of Janardhana Reddy

B Sriramulu — ‘Adopted brother’ of Reddys and MLA Molkalmuru

J Shantha — Former MP and sister of Sriramulu

Suresh Babu — Nephew of Sriramulu and former Kampli MLA