New Delhi: It's a big win for the Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) as it has grabbed the president and vice president posts in the elections to the Delhi University Students' Union (DUSU) for which counting of votes began on Friday. ABVP won 3 out of 4 posts.

Initial trends in counting indicated that the ABVP candidates were leading over candidates of the National Students Union of India (NSUI). The voting percentage recorded this year was 39.90% this year against 44.46% voter turnout last year.

ABVP, affiliated to the BJP, fielded Akshit Dahiya for the post of DUSU president, Pradeep Tanwar for the vice president, Yogit Rathee for the general secretary and Shivangi Kherwal for the post of joint secretary.

The Congress-affiliated NSUI had fielded Chetna Tyagi as President, Ankit Bharti for the vice president's post, Ashish Lamba for the secretary's post and Abhishek Chaprana for the post of joint secretary.