Bengaluru: One of the two Special Investigating teams (SIT) formed by the Delhi police to investigate the Delhi riots last month has found out the killers of head constable Ratan Lal. 

Additionally, the Delhi Police Crime Branch has also identified the attackers who seriously injured DCP Shahdara IPS Amit Sharma and Delhi police officer ACP Anuj Sharma, as reported by a popular website. 

The website further adds that the SIT now has names and addresses of more than 6 people who were involved in this attack and are preparing to arrest them.

The breakthroughs come after the police meticulously studied the CCTV footage available to them. 

The Delhi riots: 

Riots took place in northeast Delhi as clashed erupted between pro and anti-CAA groups. 

Mobs went on a rampage, killing at their will and vandalising properties unthinkably. 

As many as 47 people lost their lives and more than a 100 got injured. 

Apart from police officers, an IB officer Ankit Sharma was also stabbed to death. 

AAP leader and corporator Tahir Hussain is accused of playing a role in the murder. Presently, he is in the custody of the Delhi police.   

On its part, the government has maintained that the riots were timed to suit US President Donald Trump’s visit to Delhi, with an ulterior motive to tarnish India’s image. 

The government had also deployed National Security Adviser (NSA) Ajit Doval to restore peace and harmony. Promptly answering his call, Ajit Doval did restore peace and harmony. 

Presently, the Delhi high court is hearing a case on whether to file FIRs against hate speech givers like Waris Pathan of the AIMIM. 

Meanwhile, Prasar Bharati CEO Shashi Shekhar Vempati has declined a BBC invite as he strongly feels that the media company has failed to cover the riots in a non-partisan manner.