New Delhi: Before the Delhi elections 2020 results are announced, the Congress candidate from Vikaspuri Mukesh Sharma has accepted defeat.

He took to Twitter and said, "I accept my defeat, and thank all the voters and Congress workers of Vikaspuri constituency. I hope that there will be a holistic development of the area. I will continue to fight for the development of Delhi, Vikaspuri and Uttam Nagar constituencies in future also."

In the capital, a total of 672 candidates are in the fray. Among them, 593 are male and 79 female candidates.

As much as 62.59% voter turnout was recorded in Delhi on February 8, when the elections were held in a single-phase in Delhi.

Most of the exit polls predicted that Arvind Kejriwal-led AAP will retain power, winning two-thirds seats while some have even predicted three-fourth majority in the 70-member Assembly.

In the last Assembly poll, the AAP had won 67 seats, the BJP 3. Congress didn't open its account. While AAP hopes for a second consecutive term, the BJP is eyeing to gain a majority by cashing in on national issues, Shaheen Bagh protests and the popularity of Prime Minister Modi.