New Delhi: The Election Commission of India (ECI) on Monday (January 6) announced the dates of the much-awaited state legislative Assembly elections in Delhi. The national capital will go to polls on February 8, 2020.

The date of notifications is set for January 14. The last day to file nominations is January 21. While the last day of withdrawal of nominations is January 24, the fate of the parties in the fray is expected to be announced on February 11.

As many as 13,750 polling booths would be in place for people to cast their vote in Delhi.

For the first time a system of absentee voters is being introduced, the ECI stated, adding that those who may have to absent themselves from polling due to their inability to make it to the polling station may cast their vote through postal ballot.

In addition to these, there will be pick-up and drop facilities arranged for senior citizens and the differently abled.

It is worth mentioning that Arvind Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) government in Delhi is eyeing a consecutive second term banking on freebies it announced last year including free ride for women in DTC and cluster buses, free electricity for consumption up to 200 units, among a slew of other measures.

Congress has also announced that if it comes to power, it will provide relief to people consuming up to 600 units of electricity. The BJP is trying to woo the Purvanchali vote bank by the help of actor and singer turned politician Manoj Tiwari while it also has leaders like Union minister Hardeep Singh Puri and Parvesh Varma as its strong pillars.

The Delhi Assembly has 70 seats, and Delhi has a total of 1.46 crore voters, according to the Election Commission's record.