New Delhi: Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium was renamed as Arun Jaitley Stadium by the Delhi and District Cricket Association (DDCA). A ceremony was organised at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium on Thursday (September 12) with Union home minister Amit Shah as the chief guest.

A new pavilion stand was unveiled dedicated to India captain Virat Kohli for his outstanding achievements in cricket.

Two other Delhi players Bishan Singh Bedi and Mohinder Amarnathhave stands after their names. It was post their retirement that they received this honour.

The youngest active cricketers to be honoured with a stand named after him is Virat Kohli.

In a statement released, DDCA president Rajat Sharma had said that DDCA was proud of Virat Kohli's contribution to world cricket. He also said that he was more than happy to honour this cricketer who carries an unbeatable captaincy record.

On August 27, DDCA had announced the decision to rechristen the stadium as a tribute to late Union minister Arun Jaitley, while confirming that the ground will continue to be called the Feroz Shah Kotla.

On August 24, after prolonged illness, Arun Jaitley breathed his last at the age of 66.

Players such as Virat Kohli, Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Ashish Nehra, Rishabh Pant could succeed in making India proud, thanks to Arun Jaitley's support and encouragement, Rajat Sharma said.

The stadium was renovated during Arun Jaitley's tenure at the DDCA. Family members of Arun Jaitley too attended the function.