Bengaluru: Prime Minister Narendra Modi will dedicate to the nation the historic Kosi Rail Mahasetu (mega bridge) through video-conference on September 18. 

Apart from this the Prime Minister will also inaugurate 12 rail projects related to passenger facilities for the benefit of Bihar. These include a new railway bridge on the Kiul River, 2 new railway lines, 5 electrification projects, one electric locomotive shed and 3rd Line Project between Barh-Bakhtiyarpur.

The dedication of the Kosi Rail Mahasetu is a watershed moment in the history of Bihar and the entire region connecting to the Northeast.

In 1887, a meter gauge link was built in between Nirmali and Bhaptiahi (Saraigarh). During the heavy flood and severe Indo-Nepal earthquake in 1934, the rail link was washed away and thereafter due to meandering nature of river Kosi, no attempt was made to restore this rail link for a long period.

The Kosi Mega Bridge line project was sanctioned by government of India during 2003-04. The Kosi Rail Mahasetu is 1.9km long and its construction cost is Rs 516 crore. This bridge is of strategic importance along the India-Nepal border. The project was completed during the COVID-pandemic where the migrant labour also participated in its completion.

The dedication of this project will fulfil the 86-year-old dream and the long wait of the people of the region. Along with the dedication of the Mahasetu, the Prime Minister will also be flagging off the Saharsa- Asanpur Kupha demo train from the Supaul Station. Once the regular train service begins, this would prove to be highly beneficial to the Supaul, Arariya and Saharsa districts. It would also make it easy for long distance travel to Kolkata, Delhi and Mumbai for the people of the region.

The Prime Minister will also be inaugurating two new line projects at Hajipur-Ghoswar-Vaishali and Islampur-Nateshar. The PM will also be inaugurating the Karnauti-Bakhtiyarpur link bypass and 3rd line between Barh-Bakhiyarpur.

The Prime Minister will also be inaugurating the railway electrification projects of Muzaffarpur – Sitamarhi, Katihar–New Jalpaiguri, Samastipur-Darbhanga-Jaynagar, Samastipur-Khagaria, Bhagalpur-Shivnarayanpur sections.