Amaravati: Chandrababu Naidu's Telugu Desam Party (TDP) would soon be dry as several leaders are quitting the party to join the BJP. Gangula Pratap Reddy, a TDP leader from Andhra Pradesh on Thursday (August 1) is the latest to join the Bharatiya Janata Party in the presence of its working president JP Nadda, the party said.

Three-time MLA and one-time MP who had vacated his seat for the then Prime Minister PV Narsimha Rao in 1991 to contest Lok Sabha election, Gangula Pratap Reddy joined the BJP. Reddy was with the Congress before joining the TDP. Now, in the presence of JP Nadda, he joined the BJP.

The 68-year-old was once considered close to the Congress top leadership and had vacated his parliamentary seat for Rao to contest after becoming the Prime Minister.

From 1992 to 1998, Reddy was a Rajya Sabha member, and he has served in various committees like communications, tourism and transport.

Gangula Pratap Reddy joining the BJP came after four TDP MPs, YS Chowdary, CM Ramesh, TG Venkatesh from Andhra Pradesh, and G Mohan Rao from Telangana joined the BJP.

Meanwhile, the state BJP had claimed on several occasions that the TDP and YSRCP leaders in Andhra Pradesh are in talks with the BJP. The BJP also claimed that in the next Assembly and Lok Sabha elections, their party would win in thumping victory in both Andhra Pradesh and Telangana.