Guwahati: Just ahead of the third phase of the Lok Sabha elections, eight Bangladeshis were apprehended by police in Assam’s capital city Guwahati on Monday.

According to the reports, the Government Railway Police (GRP) and the Border branch of Assam police had apprehended eight Bangladeshis at Guwahati railway station while they were waiting to board in Down Chennai Express train.

A top official of GRP said that the apprehended Bangladesh nationals had illegally entered India through Tripura border on April 20 and reached Agartala.

“After reaching Agartala, they boarded the Guwahati bound bus on April 21 and reached at the railway station today,” the GRP official said.

 Those held were identified as Akram Hussain (19), Dilwer Hussain (19), Rubel Hussain (19), Kamal Hussain (20), Manir Hussain (21), Abu Taher (18), Sobuj Hussain(19) and Manir Hussain (18) and they are hailing from Chikoncherra area under Bhojpur police station in Chittagong district.

The GRP official confirmed that these illegal immigrants entered India without any valid documents and the police recovered few documents in possession from them.

Voting for the third phase polls for four Lok Sabha constituencies in Assam – Guwahati, Barpeta, Dhubri and Kokrajhar will be held on April 23 with 74,77,062 electorates eligible to cast their votes in 9577 polling stations.

54 candidates including perfume baron and sitting All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) MP Badruddin Ajmal, state cabinet minister Pramila Rani Brahma, sitting Independent MP Naba Kumar Sarania, Congress MLA Abdul Khaleque, former MLAs Rafikul Islam, Urkhao Gwra Brahma, Abu Taher Bepari, Javed Islam, are in fray in the third phase of poll.