Bengaluru: The union Cabinet has been formed and 57 ministers have been inducted. Modi 2.0 has created a history by inducting Nirmala Sitharaman, who is the first woman finance minister to serve the country in nearly five decades. Karnataka too had its share of ministers as three MPs were inducted into the newly formed Cabinet.

However, five MPs from Karnataka couldn't make it to Modi Cabinet 2.0.

The three Lok Sabha MPs from Karnataka to get into Modi 2.0 are Sadananda Gowda, Suresh Angadi, Pralhad Joshi.

Sadananda Gowda is the only MP who has been retained in the Modi Cabinet. He previously served as Minister of Law and Justice and has been given the position of Minister of Chemicals and Fertilizers. Suresh Angadi is the Minister of State for Railways and Pralhad Joshi is the Minister for Parliamentary Affairs, Coal and Mines.

However, Anant Kumar Hegde, who was the Minister of State for Skill Development and Entrepreneurship and Ramesh Jigajinagi who was the Minister of State for Drinking Water and Sanitation have been dropped this time.

Here are five MPs from Karnataka, who expected to be in Modi Cabinet 2.0, but didn’t make the cut.

1) Anant Kumar Hegde

Anant Kumar Hegde had served as the state minister in NDA-1 Cabinet. Being one of the most outspoken politicians from Karnataka, he won against JD(S) Anand Asnotikar by 4,79,649 votes.

2) Shobha Karandlaje

Karnataka BJP state president Yeddyurappa was batting for Shobha Karrandlaje who defeated Congress' Pramod Madhwaraj in Udupi-Chikkamagaluru constituency for a Cabinet post. But Shobha was not considered by the Modi government.

3) GS Basavaraj

BJP leader GS Basavaraj was in the news after he defeated former prime minister and JD(S) chief HD Deve Gowda in Tumakuru. He had even said that he was an aspirant for the post of minister. However, Basavaraj missed out despite defeating Deve Gowda.

4) Umesh Jadhav

Umesh Jadhav from Kalaburagi had taken everyone by surprise, firstly, by quitting Congress and joining the BJP, just before the Lok Sabha election and secondly, when he defeated veteran Congress leader Mallikarjun Kharge who is a 10-time MLA and 2-time MP from the region. However, being a new leader in the BJP, Jadhav was not considered.

5) PC Mohan

PC Mohan has won Bengaluru Central constituency for the BJP for the third time. He won in the constituency in 2009 and 2014. This time PC Mohan defeated Congress' Rizwan Arshad to retain the seat for the BJP. Being a consistent performer, it was expected that PC Mohan will be inducted in the Cabinet, however, it was not to be.