On this day in 2019, Jammu and Kashmir was integrated with the rest of India. Today is the second anniversary of the historic decision to abrogate Articles 370 and 35(A), which gave the state its unique status and mandate to define its domicile rules. The state was divided into two Union territories of Jammu & Kashmir and Ladakh.

Though many regional parties are unhappy with the decision and have vowed to restore statehood, in the two years, here are some of the significant changes that have taken place: 

  • Last year, in October, the Centre paved the way for the people outside J&K to buy land in the state. In a notification from the government, the central government omitted the phrase 'permanent resident of the state' from Section 17 of the Jammu and Kashmir Development Act that deals with land disposal in the union territory. 
  • After the abrogation of Article 370, Srinagar's civil secretariat hoisted the national flag while their state's flag was missing. Their flag with a red background with three vertical stripes alongside a white plough in the middle with a handle. --- fluttered next to the national flag in the secretariat for more than six decades.
  • Before the law was passed, in the early hours of August 5, hundreds of political leaders and workers --- including former chief minister Mehbooba Mufti, Omar Abdullah and his father Farooq Abdullah --- were detained. Since their release in 2020, the leaders have come together along with other four parties to form an informal alliance --- the Gupkar alliance' --- that aims to restore special status.
  • In a recent development, the CID wing of Jammu and Kashmir issued an order stating the denial of security clearance which is required for passport and other government services, to all those involved in stone-pelting and other subversive activities. The order was issued on July 31 this year. 
  • In July this year, the rules changed and allowed issuing of domicile certificates to the husbands of local women married to people outside Jammu and Kashmir. This move will enable them to buy land or property in the region or apply for government jobs. People who have stayed in the Union territory for 15 years or stayed for seven years, appeared in Class 10 or 12 examinations are eligible for domicile status with their children.