Nadigar Sangam election: Rajinikanth not to vote, stars from Suriya to Khushboo exercise their right

First Published Jun 23, 2019, 4:44 PM IST

Chennai: The election for the Nadigar Sangam, association of film, television and stage actors from the Tamil film and entertainment industry began today. Nearly 3,000 artistes are expected to cast their vote.

Outgoing office-bearers such as president Nassar, secretary Vishal Reddy and treasurer Karthi are seeking another term, whereas Bhagyaraj, Udhaya, Kutty Padmini and Ishari Ganesh are contesting against them. Meanwhile, Superstar Rajinikanth put out a tweet stating that he will not be able to vote this time as the postal ballot has not reached him. The date for election to Nadigar Sangam was set after the Madras high court gave a green signal. Actress Khushboo, stars Vijay, Suriya and others cast their votes. Results of the same will be announced by evening.