Chennai: With the success of the #MeToo movement and the allegations that stemmed from it against several celebrities of the Tamil film industry, the South Indian Artistes Association or Nadigar Sangam has decided to set up an Internal Complaints Committee (ICC).

A two-point statement was released that read, “Although there are Sangam laws to safeguard the rights and self-respect of our members, a legally-mandated ‘Vishaka committee’ will be constituted.” On Monday, a Special Working Committee meeting of the Nadigar Sangam was held. The meeting was headed by the president of the actors' body, Nasser and treasurer Karthi. 

The statement said that the ICC would constitute a majority of female members and would also include a psychologist. The Nadigar Sangam asserted that the ICC would be a neutral body.

The announcement came after several celebrities including Tamil lyricist Vairamuthu were accused of sexual harassment under the #Me too movement by singer Chinmayi, US-based photographer Sindhuja Rajaram, anchor Bhuvana Seshan and 8 other women.

Actor Radha Ravi, actor TM Karthik, actor John Vijay, singer Karthik, director Susi Ganesan, actor Arjun Sarja and actor-producer Thyagarajan are other celebs from the Tamil film industry, who have been accused of sexual misconduct by women. 

Actor Vishal, general secretary of the Nadigar Sangam and President of TFPC, announced the formation of a three-member probe committee to look into the allegations made by the women and to ensure their safety.