Mollywood celebrities have decided to submit a letter signed by 107 artises to Kerala Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan, requesting not to invite megastar Mohanlal, President of the Association of Malayalam Movie Artistes (AMMA) to the state award function.

Well-known names like Prakash Raj, NS Madhavan, Sachidanandan, KG Sankaran Pillai, Rajeev Ravi, Dr Biju, Bina Paul, Rima Kallingal, Geetu Mohandas, MN Karassery, Prakash Bare, Vidhu Vincent, Sajitha Madathil, Sruthi Hariharan, Siddharth Siva, Shahina Nafeesa, Didi Damodaran and film critic Maneesh Narayanan, among others, have made the joint declaration and signed the letter. 

Mohanlal's decision to welcome Dileep to the AMMA organisation has led to this action. A K Balan, Minister for Cultural Affairs of the state has directly invited Mohanlal as the chief invitee to the celebration. However, it has been made clear in the joint declaration that if Lal is welcomed as a special invitee,

Mohanlal's presence will degrade the function where the Chief Minister will give away the awards in the presence of cultural affairs minister.