Guwahati: Polling began at 7 AM and will end at 5 PM in five seats in Assam, two seats in Arunachal Pradesh, one seat in Mizoram and Tripura West while polling for Outer Manipur, Nagaland and two seats in Meghalaya will end at 4 PM.

A total of 93 candidates in 13 Lok Sabha seats are in the fray and a total of 1,46,46,517 voters will exercise their franchise to decide the fate of the contesting candidates.

Voting began at 21,585 polling stations including 9,574 booths in Assam, 2,201 in Arunachal Pradesh, 3,167 in Meghalaya, 2,227 in Nagaland, 1,175 in Mizoram, 1,679 in Tripura and 1,562 in Manipur.

Adequate security measures have been taken at all polling stations and nearby areas.

Also read: Lok Sabha elections 2019: IED detected in Assam, 10 % turnout till 9 am

In Assam, around 180 companies of central paramilitary forces have been deployed.

The first phase of voting is underway in five parliamentary constituencies in Assam's Kaliabor, Tezpur, Lakhimpur, Jorhat and Dibrugarh.

A total of 7,60,3458 voters, with 3,86,5334 males, 3,73,7970 females and 154 voters in the Third Gender category are voting from five Lok Sabha seats to elect their representative.

On the other hand, the election for two Lok Sabha — Arunachal West and Arunachal East and 60 Assembly seats have been simultaneously held in Arunachal Pradesh.