Bengaluru:  As the filing of nominations for the first phase of polling for 14 Lok Sabha constituencies ended in Karnataka on Tuesday, a total of 455 nominations have been submitted by 362 candidates, poll officials said.

On Tuesday the last day for filing of nominations, 181 candidates had filed 222 nominations.

Among these, 337 are men and 25 are women, Karnataka Chief Electoral Officer's office stated in a official release on late Tuesday night.

Among the constituencies that will go to polls in the first phase on April 18, In Karnataka, Bengaluru North has the highest number of aspirants with 40 candidates who have filed their nominations. Hassan and Chamarajanagar recorded the lowest number of candidates at 13.

Chitradurga (SC), Chamarajanagar (SC) and Kolar (SC) are the three reserved parliamentary constituencies among the 14 which will go to polls on April 18, and 64 candidates have filed 79 nominations in these seats.

On Tuesday, the last day for the filing of nominations, 181 candidates had filed 222 nominations.

Prominent among those contesting in the first phase include former Prime Minister HD Deve Gowda (Tumakuru), his grandson Prajwal Revanna and Nikhil Kumaraswamy from Hassan and Mandya respectively.

Others in the political fray for the first phase include Union minister Sadananda Gowda (Bangalore North), senior Congress leaders Veerappa Moily (Chikkaballapura), B K Hariprasad (Bangalore South) and Karnataka Rural Development Minister Krishna Byre Gowda (Bangalore North).

Karnataka will go for polls in two phases, 14 constituencies each, on April 18 and 23.

While scrutiny of nominations was held on March 27, the last date for withdrawal is March 29.

For the second phase polls on April 23, notification will be issued on March 28. The last date for nominations is April 4. Scrutiny will be conducted on April 5 and the last day for withdrawal is April 8.

Counting of votes and announcement of results for both phases is scheduled for May 23.