Itanagar: In what looks like an exodus from the BJP just before the Assembly election in Arunachal Pradesh, at least 11 sitting MLAs of the saffron party have switched sides to the National People’s Party (NPP). Of the 11, eight including the home minister, joined the NPP on Tuesday.

Apart from home minister Kumar Waii, former state BJP general secretary Jarpum Gamlin has also moved to the NPP.

Also read: BJP denies ticket to 13 sitting MLAs in Arunachal; opting for fresh faces party's new template

Meanwhile, three BJP MLAs — Pani Taram, Paknga Bage and Thangwang Wangham joined the NPP on Monday in the presence of state party president Gicho Kabak, vice-president cum spokesperson Nima Sangey Saling, vice-president Anok Wangsa, general secretaries Kibi Kali, Porchu Tamin, and Sherge Thungdon, state secretary Tapi Sorang and other dignitaries of the party in Itanagar.

Sources say that the switch will continue even on Wednesday.

But, why is this exodus?

The primary reason is a lot of sitting MLAs were not given tickets by the BJP this time that resulted in a lot of discontent. The BJP, throughout India, wants to go for fresh faces in 2019 polls. In fact, in Chhattisgarh, none of the sitting MPs were given tickets this time.

Also read: BJP announces list of Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh Assembly election candidates

In Arunachal Pradesh, the BJP dropped 13 of its sitting MLAs including three ministers. With the NPP giving offers in the face of this embarrassment, the mass exodus was expected.

In fact, BJP’s former general secretary Gamlin in Arunachal Pradesh resigned a day before joining the NPP. He cited not being given the ticket as a reason in his resignation letter.