Kolkata: The BJP has approached the Election Commission after a video of Trinamool Congress workers allegedly intimidating voters surfaced from Bengal's Cooch Behar district on Thursday.  

In the video purportedly from Sitalkuchi area of Cooch Behar, a couple is seen alleging that Trinamool Congress workers had tried to threaten them when they came to cast their votes.  

The Trinamool workers allegedly advised the couple against exercising their (democratic) 'power' and that they won't be allowed to vote. They have also been accused to pulling at the sari of the woman.  

In the video that has gone viral, a few men are also seen running away when confronted by a journalist. This has brought back ugly memories of violence and hooliganism during the Bengal panchayat polls last year.

An EVM machine was smashed in Cooch Behar's Dinhata. However, it was unclear who was responsible for it.

Also read: BJP soaking in TMC rebels a risky proposition or shrewd strategy?

Voting for two of the 42 Lok Sabha constituencies of Bengal took place in the first phase on Thursday. Apart from Cooch Behar, the Alipurduars also went to poll. Ninety-one seats across the country are witnessing polling on Thursday. 

Bengal will hold elections on all the seven phases. Jalpaiguri, Darjeeling, Raiganj will go to polls on April 18, while Balurghat, Malda Uttar, Malda Dakshin, Jangipur and Murshidabad will vote on April 23. 

Also read — Yes, I am gaddar; I learnt gaddari from Didi: Mukul Roy

Baharampur, Krishnanagar, Ranaghat, Bardhaman Purba, Bardhaman-Durgapur, Asansol, Bolpur and Birbhum will see elections in the fourth phase on April 29. Voting in Bangaon, Barrackpur, Howrah, Uluberia, Sreerampur, Hooghly, Arambag will take place on May 6. 

Tamluk, Kanthi, Ghatal, Jhargram, Medinipur, Purulia, Bankura, Bishnupur will vote on May 12. In the last phase on May 19, polls will be held in Dum Dum, Barasat, Basirhat, Jaynagar, Mathurapur, Diamond Harbour, Jadavpur, Kolkata Dakshin and Kolkata Uttar.