Bengaluru: LR Shivaramegowda of the JD(S) representing Mandya is the richest MP from Karnataka with Rs 98,31,29,191 assets declared in 2014. He is followed by Congress MP for Bengaluru Rural, DK Suresh who has Rs 85,87,13,138 worth property and cash. Third richest is BJP's BY Raghavendra ,who owns Rs 58,89,03,795 worth properties and represents Shivamogga.

Thus, at least 58% of incumbent MPs in Karnataka have up to Rs 10 crore worth properties. Of them, 25% have more than Rs 10 crore worth properties.

Considering the assets, among the candidates, who contested elections in 2014 Lok Sabha, 27 are billionaires. Richest of the candidates, Nandan Nilekani, who contested from Bengaluru South constituency, owned Rs 7,710 crore worth properties.

This time, with Congress and JD(S) joining hands, followed by the death of MPs including Ananth Kumar of the BJP representing Bengaluru South, fresh faces have been introduced to contest from various constituencies. Tejasvi Surya from BJP (Bengaluru South), Prajwal Revanna from Hassan, Nikhil Kumaraswamy from the JD(S) representing Mandya, Sumalatha, independent  candidate from Mandya, are contesting for the first time.

Here are the details of the assets owned by incumbent MPs of Karnataka: