With 15 runs needed in the final over bowled by Trent Boult, England were handed a piece of luck when a throw from the deep from Martin Guptill hit Ben Stokes’ bat and went to the boundary
London: After fans and former cricketers slammed the International Cricket Council (ICC) for their boundary count rule to decide the winner of the ICC World Cup 2019 final between England and New Zealand at Lord’s on Sunday (July 14), here come another piece of controversy.
England were declared winners of the final after both the match and the Super Over ended in ties. The hosts edged the Kiwis on boundary countback. However, there is new “mistake” that has emerged which could have proved costly for the Kane Williamson’s side.
Former Australian umpire Simon Taufel has revealed how on-field officials Kumar Dharmasena (Sri Lanka) and Marais Erasmus (South Africa) erred in awarding England an extra run in the final over of the contest.
Also read: We are gutted, says Kane Williamson
With 15 runs needed in the final over bowled by Trent Boult, England were handed a piece of luck when a throw from the deep from Martin Guptill hit Ben Stokes’ bat and went to the boundary.
Stokes and Adil Rashid had taken two runs and four more were added to the total as Dharmasena signalled six runs from one ball following the overthrow. However, Taufel felt that only five runs should have been awarded as per the rules.
“It’s a clear mistake … it’s an error of judgment,” Taufel, who won ICC’s Umpire of the year for five times, told Fox Sports on Monday (July 15).
“In the heat of what was going on, they thought there was a good chance the batsmen had crossed at the instant of the throw,” he added. “Obviously TV replays showed otherwise.”
The umpires had to check whether the batsmen had crossed for the second run before Guptill had thrown the ball. They did not and in the tense moments of the match, signalled six runs.
Rule 19.8: Overthrow or wilful act of fielder
If the boundary results from an overthrow or from the wilful act of a fielder, the runs scored shall be
— any runs for penalties awarded to either side
— and the allowance for the boundary
— and the runs completed by the batsmen, together with the run in progress if they had already crossed at the instant of the throw or act.
Read Exclusive COVID-19 Coronavirus News updates, at MyNation.
Last Updated Jul 15, 2019, 2:09 PM IST