New Delhi: The 13th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) will commence on March 29 and the final will be played on May 24, with both matches in Mumbai. IPL 2020 will also see some changes, BCCI president Sourav Ganguly has confirmed.

Also read: Full list of players sold at IPL 2020 auction

The IPL Governing Council (GC) met in Delhi on Monday (January 27) and later Ganguly spoke to the media. He said Mumbai will host the final. Mumbai Indians (MI) are the defending champions.

No change in timings

As it has been the case in previous years, this season too, IPL matches will start at 4 pm IST and 8 PM IST.

“There will be no change in the timing of IPL night games. It will start from 8 pm like earlier years,” Ganguly said.

“We will have only five double headers (4pm and 8 pm) this time. We have decided to reduce the number of double headers,” the former India captain added.

All Stars game

For the first time in the history of IPL, an All Stars game will be played before the start of the season. Players from all eight franchises will be picked to form two teams. The proceeds of the contest will go for charity.

“It will be an IPL All Stars Game three days before start of IPL. The venue is not Ahmedabad as it is still not match ready. We have not decided on where we will make the donation,” Ganguly said.

Concussion substitutes

Another new concept in IPL 2020 is the introduction of concussion substitutes. The BCCI has emphasised on players’ safety. Now, Test matches have concussion substitutes and India will be the first to bring the rule into T20 format.

Third umpire to call no balls

The calling of no balls by third umpire was trialled during international matches and it will used in IPL 2020, Ganguly confirmed.