Hyderabad: In a thrilling finish to the 12th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL 2019), Mumbai Indians (MI) edged Chennai Super Kings (CSK) by one run on Sunday night (May 12) to be crowned the champions for a record fourth time.

Chasing 150 for victory, CSK fell short by a solitary run when they needed two off the final ball bowled by Lasith Malinga. The Sri Lankan paceman trapped Shardul Thakur LBW to trigger wild celebrations among MI players and fans at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium. Batting first, MI posted a below par 149/8 in 20 overs and in reply CSK ended up with 148/7.

CSK opener Shane Watson's 59-ball 80 went in vain. Earlier, Kieron Pollard's 25-ball 41 not out had helped MI post a decent total. For MI, Jasprit Bumrah and Rahul Chahar had identical figures of 1/14. Deepak Chahar was the pick of the bowlers for CSK with 3/26.

After the final, there were a host of awards given away. The winning team, led by Rohit Sharma became richer by Rs 20 crore and MS Dhoni-captained CSK took home Rs 12.5 crore.

Here is the full list of award winners of IPL 2019

Champions: Mumbai Indians (MI) — Rs 20 crore

Runners-up: Chennai Super Kings (CSK) — Rs 12.5 crore

Orange Cap: David Warner (Sunrisers Hyderabad) — 692 runs (12 matches) — Rs 10 lakh

In a video message, Warner said, “An honour to win the Orange Cap. When we play, we don’t think of these awards. But, (I) must say congratulations to the curator (in Hyderabad) for a good surface. (It is) always a privilege to play in Hyderabad. Very grateful to be part of the IPL. Thank you very much.”

Sunrisers' mentor VVS Laxman received the award on behalf of Warner.

Purple Cap: Imran Tahir (Chennai Super Kings) — 26 wickets (17 matches) — Rs 10 lakh

“I’m grateful to Chennai for giving me an opportunity at this age. Want to thank management, coaches, captain and players. It’s sad we didn’t win but Mumbai played well and deserved the victory. I’ve been working hard to maintain an economy. Not easy bowling against the local Indian and international players. But really just pleased with myself. Hard work is all I’ve been doing. I would love to carry on as long I can,” said Tahir after receiving the honour.

Man-of-the-final: Jasprit Bumrah (MI) — 2/14 in 4 overs — Rs 5 lakh

Gamechanger of the final: Rahul Chahar (MI) – 1/14 in four overs – Rs 1 lakh

Stylish player of the final: Kieron Pollard (MI) — Rs 1 lakh

Emerging player: Shubman Gill (Kolkata Knight Riders) — Rs 10 lakh

Most Valuable Player (MVP): Andre Russell (KKR) — Rs 10 lakh

Perfect catch of the season: Kieron Pollard (MI) — Rs 10 lakh

Stylish player of the season: KL Rahul (Kings XI Punjab) — Rs 10 lakh. Hardik Pandya received the award on behalf of Rahul.
Super striker of the season: Andre Russell — Rs 10 lakh

In a video message, Russell said, “Happy to win the striker award. I think a lot of guys were up for the award this season, but I’m fortunate to win it. Hopefully next year we will go all the way and I can collect the key in the final.”

Shubman Gill collected Russell's both awards on behalf of the West Indian all-rounder.

Fairplay award: Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH). Laxman received the award on behalf of the team.

Fastest fifty of the season: Hardik Pandya (MI) — Rs 10 lakh

Gamechanger of the season: Rahul Chahar (MI) — Rs 10 lakh

Pitch and grounds award: Punjab Cricket Association (PCA) and Hyderabad Cricket Association (HCA)