Visakhapatnam: Rohit Sharma and Mayank Agarwal broke records to put India in command against South Africa on the second day of the first Test here in Visakhapatnam on Thursday (October 3).

Resuming at their overnight score of 202/0, India continued to scoring with ease. Rohit and Mayank dominated to bring up 300-run partnership in the first session of the day.

Also read: India vs South Africa 2019 series schedule, squads, live streaming information

Rohit’s brilliant innings was ended at 176 when he was stumped by Quinton de Kock of the bowling of left-arm spinner Keshav Maharaj. The opening partnership came to an end at 317 in 81.6 overs.

During their association at the crease, Rohit and Mayank broke records. Earlier on Thursday, Mayank brought up his maiden Test century.

Also read: Here's what Rohit said after scoring Test ton

It was an outstanding start for Rohit as an opener. In his maiden Test innings at the top of the order, the Mumbai right-hander has proved that he belongs to the Test arena.

Among other records, Rohit and Mayank eclipsed a 15-year-old mark held by Virender Sehwag and Gautam Gambhir.

Here is the list of records broken by Rohit-Mayank duo

Highest partnership for India vs South Africa (any wicket)

317 – Mayank Agarwal-Rohit Sharma (1st wicket), Visakhapatnam, (1st), Today

268 – Virender Sehwag-Rahul Dravid (2nd wicket), Chennai, 2007/08

259* – VVS Laxman-MS Dhoni (7th wicket), Kolkata, 2009/10

249 – Virender Sehwag-Sachin Tendulkar (3rd wicket), Kolkata, 2009/10

Highest opening partnership for India vs South Africa

317 – Mayank Agarwal-Rohit Sharma, Today

218 – Virender Sehwag-Gautam Gambhir, Kanpur, 2004/05

213 – Virender Sehwag-Wasim Jaffer, Chennai, 2007/08

Highest opening partnership for India in Tests

413 – Vinoo Mankad-Pankaj Roy vs New Zealand, Chennai, 1955/56

410 – Virender Sehwag-Rahul Dravid vs Pakistan, Lahore, 2005/06

317 – Mayank Agarwal-Rohit Sharma vs South Africa, Visakhapatnam, 2019/20

289 – Murali Vijay-Shikhar Dhawan vs Australia, Mohali, 2012/13

Most sixes in an innings by India's openers in Tests

9 – Rohit Sharma (6)-Mayank Agarwal (3) vs SA, Visakhapatnam, 2019/20

8 – Navjyot Singh Sidhu (8)-Manoj Prabhakar vs Sri Lanka, Lucknow, 1993/94

8 – Virender Sehwag (7)-Murali Vijay (1) vs Sri Lanka, Mumbai, 2009/10