Bengaluru: Opening batsman Prithvi Shaw returned to the Indian Test squad for the two-match series against New Zealand while Rohit Sharma was ruled out.

The BCCI selectors named the Test squad on Tuesday (February 4). Rohit is out of both ODIs and Tests against the Kiwis. Mayank Agarwal has replaced Rohit in the ODI outfit.

Also read: Rohit Sharma ruled out of New Zealand tour

Also making a comeback to the Test squad is Jasprit Bumrah. He had missed the home Tests due to injury. India have named five pacemen while Ishant Sharma’s availability is subject to fitness.

Also read: Rohit picks India's 'best captain'

Navdeep Saini has also got a call-up to the 16-man Test squad. He is uncapped in the five-day format. Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja are the two specialist spinners.

On Rohit’s injury, BCCI said, “Vice-captain Rohit Sharma sustained a left calf muscle strain during the fifth T20I against New Zealand at Tauranga on Sunday. He underwent an MRI scan in Hamilton on Monday. The opening batsman has been ruled out of the upcoming ODI and the Test series and will be referred to the National Cricket Academy for further management of his injury.
“The All-India Senior Selection Committee have named Mayank Agarwal in the ODI squad as Rohit’s replacement. The committee also named the Test squad for the two-match Test series.”

The three-match ODI series starts tomorrow (February 5) in Hamilton. The opening Test is in Wellington from February 21. India currently lead the ICC World Test Championship with an unbeaten record. The Virat Kohli-led side has 360 points from seven matches.

India’s Test squad

Virat Kohli (captain), Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Wriddhiman Saha (wicketkeeper), Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini, Ishant Sharma (subject to fitness clearance).

Test fixtures (All matches start at 4 AM IST)

1st Test (February 21-25) - Wellington

2nd Test (February 29-March 4) - Christchurch