Mumbai: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Monday (June 3) announced the 2019-20 home season which will include five Tests, nine ODIs, and 12 T20Is. Five countries will tour India.

The season will start with the Freedom Trophy for the Gandhi-Mandela series played between India and South Africa in September, followed by a T20I and Test series against Bangladesh in November.

Also read: Full schedule of India matches at World Cup with start times, live TV, streaming info

The West Indies will then tour India in the month of December and following suit will be Zimbabwe and Australia in January. The five Tests to be played in the 2019-20 season will be a part of the Test Championship.

Currently, India are in the United Kingdom for the ICC World Cup 2019. The Virat Kohli-led side play South Africa in their opening game on June 5.

Also read: World Cup 2019 format, rain rules, Super Over and other playing conditions

In the 2108-19 season which concluded with the Indian Premier League (IPL 2019), the BCCI had conducted over 2,000 matches.

For the first time ever, the Indian domestic season witnessed as many as 2024 matches involving 37 teams amounting to 3,444 match days as compared to 1,032 matches involving 28 teams amounting to 1892.5 match days in the 2017-18 season.

Efficient scheduling of tournaments ensured leaner tournament window and reduced operational encumbrances of longer tournament windows. It’s a whopping 81% jump in match days, which was accommodated with just a 21% increase in season window. 

Throughout the season, 13015 player registrations were received while 6471 players participated in the 2018-19 season. Over 100 cities across India hosted senior as well as different age-group matches. The Board engaged services of 170 video analysts and as many scorers, who ensured every game was scored live on the official website.

India’s 2019-20 home schedule

South Africa: Three T20Is in Dharamsala, Mohali and Bengaluru; three Tests in Visakhapatnam, Ranchi and Pune; three ODIs (in March 2020) in Dharamsala, Lucknow and Kolkata

Bangladesh: Three T20Is in Delhi, Rajkot and Nagpur; two Tests in Indore and Kolkata

West Indies: Three T20Is in Mumbai, Thiruvananthapuram and Hyderabad; three ODIs in Chennai, Visakhapatnam and Cuttack

Zimbabwe: Three T20Is in Guwahati, Indore and Pune

Australia: Three ODIs in Mumbai, Rajkot and Bengaluru