Southampton: India paceman Mohammed Shami joined an elite club of bowlers who have taken a hat-trick in ICC World Cup. He achieved the feat on Saturday (June 22) to deliver a thrilling 11-run win for India against Afghanistan in the ICC World Cup 2019 at The Rose Bowl in Southampton.

Shami, who was playing his first match of the tournament, had to defend 16 in the final over as Afghanistan chased 225. He not only made sure that he defended the runs, he also took a hat-trick.

Also read: World Cup 2019 format, rain rules, Super Over and other playing conditions

The right-arm pacer dismissed all the three batsmen bowled off three consecutive balls. First, he went through the defence of the dangerous Mohammad Nabi with a yorker off the third ball of the 50th over. Then, he bowled Aftab Alam for a golden duck and did the same to Mujeeb ur Rahman to seal victory for India.

Photos: Meet the hat-trick heroes of World Cup

Shami is only the second Indian after Chetan Sharma to take a World Cup hat-trick. Sharma had done it against New Zealand in 1987. Sharma too had bowled all three of his victims.

Also read: Full schedule of India matches at World Cup with start times, live TV, streaming info

Sri Lanka’s Lasith Malinga is the only bowler to take two hat-tricks in the World Cup. Also, he holds the record of taking four wickets in four balls, against South Africa, in the 2007 edition.

So far, there have been 10 hat-tricks in World Cup history. Sharma was the first to enter the elite club. Shami is the ninth bowler to take a World Cup hat-trick.

Full list of hat-tricks in World Cup

1. Chetan Sharma (India) (Ken Rutherford, Ian Smith, Ewen Chatfield) vs New Zealand, 1987

2. Saqlain Mushtaq (Pakistan) (Henry Olonga, Adam Huckle, Pommie Mbangwa) vs Zimbabwe, 1999

3. Chaminda Vaas (Sri Lanka) (Hannan Sarkar, Mohammad Ashraful, Ehsanul Haque) vs Bangladesh, 2003

4. Brett Lee (Australia) (Kennedy Otieno, Brijal Patel, David Obuya) vs Kenya, 2003

5. Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka) (Shaun Pollock, Andrew Hall, Jacques Kallis, Makhaya Ntini) vs South Africa, 2007 (four in four balls) 

6. Kemar Roach (West Indies) (Pieter Seelaar, Bernard Loots, Berend Westdijk) vs The Netherlands, 2011

7. Malinga (Tanmay Mishra, Peter Ongondo, Shem Ngoche) vs Kenya, 2011

8. Steven Finn (England) (Brad Haddin, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Johnson) vs Australia, 2015

9. JP Duminy (South Africa) (Angelo Mathews, Nuwan Kulasekara, Tharindu Kaushal) vs Sri Lanka, 2015

10. Mohammed Shami (India) (Mohammad Nabi, Aftab Alam, Mujeeb ur Rahman) vs Afghanistan, 2019