Birmingham: Pakistan upset unbeaten New Zealand in their league match at the ICC World Cup 2019 to bring back memories of World Cup 1992. The ‘men in green’ rode on Babar Azam’s brilliant ton to defeat the Kiwis by six wickets at Edgbaston on Wednesday (June 26).

The results so far have been eerily similar to Pakistan’s World Cup winning campaign in 1992. Back then, Imran Khan led the team to World Cup glory when the tournament was played in Australia and New Zealand.

Also read: World Cup 2019 format, rain rules, Super Over and other playing conditions

So far in the ongoing tournament, Pakistan have played seven matches and the pattern of results are similar to that of the 1992 edition. Although Pakistan are not still assured of a berth in the semi-finals, fans are hoping the current pattern culminates in World Cup glory just like 36 years ago.

Also read: All the 10 squads for World Cup 2019

During the match against New Zealand, the TV commentators showed a graphic of both 1992 and the current edition and spoke of the spooky pattern.

After the match, captain Safaraz Ahmed was asked about it and this is what he said, “We are not thinking about the 1992 World Cup, we are taking game by game here. We are confident as a team and hopefully, we will do well.”

Also to note is the tournament's format in 1992 and 2019. Both are round robin format with each team playing the other once in the league phase with the top-four progressing to the semi-finals. Back in 1992, there were nine teams but now there are 10.

One more similarity was that Pakistan in their seventh match at World Cup, had won in 49.1 overs back in 1992 and same happened on Wednesday against New Zealand.

Will Pakistan repeat history and win the trophy at Lord's on July 14?

Comparison between Pakistan teams at World Cups in 1992 and 2019

World Cup 1992 (Australia/New Zealand) vs World Cup 2019 (England/Wales)

Match 1: Lost by 10 wickets vs West Indies (1992); Lost by 7 wickets vs West Indies (2019)

Match 2: Won by 53 runs vs Zimbabwe; Won by 14 runs v England

Match 3: No Result vs England (washout); No Result vs Sri Lanka (washout)

Match 4: Lost by 43 runs vs India; Lost by 41 runs vs Australia

Match 5: Lost by 20 runs vs South Africa; Lost by 89 runs vs India

Match 6: Won by 48 runs vs Australia; Won by 49 runs vs South Africa

Match 7: Won by 4 wickets vs Sri Lanka; Won by 6 wickets vs New Zealand

Match 8: Won by 7 wickets vs New Zealand; Vs Afghanistan on June 29

Match 9: Semi-final: Won by 4 wickets vs NZ; Vs Bangladesh on July 5

Match 10: Final: Won by 22 runs vs England