Ranchi: Openers Shubman Gill and Mayank Agarwal hit centuries while offspinner Jalaj Saxena took seven wickets as India C hammered India A by 232 runs to enter the final of the Deodhar Trophy one-day tournament in Ranchi on Friday (November 1).

Captain Gill won the toss and elected to bat first at the JSCA International Stadium Complex ground. He and Mayank put on 226 runs for the first wicket to lay a perfect foundation for a big score.

Also read: India B thrash India A

Thanks to Gill and Mayank, India C posted a mammoth 366/3 in 50 overs. In reply, India A were bundled out for a paltry 134 in 29.5 overs with Saxena taking 7/41 in 9.5 overs.

Gill hit 10 fours and six sixes in his 142-ball 143 while Mayank scored 15 fours and a six during his knock of 120 off 111 balls. In the end, it was Suryakumar Yadav, who blazed his way to an unbeaten 72 off just 29 balls with nine fours and four sixes.

India A’s new ball bowlers Jaydev Unadkat and Siddarth Kaul went for plenty without any success. Unadkat gave away 82 runs in his 10 overs while Kaul conceded 66 in eight. Ravichandran Ashwin (1/57 in 10 overs) was the only bowler to have an economy rate under six.

In the run chase, India A were never in the hunt as they were reduced to 17/3 in 3.4 overs. Opener Devdutt Padikkal was the top scorer with 31. The next best was 30 from Bhargav Merai.

With two losses in as many matches, India A are out of the competition. India A had lost to India B by 108 runs yesterday (October 31). It will be India C versus India B in the final on Monday (November 4). Tomorrow (November 2), in the last league match, the finalists will meet.

Brief Scores

India C 366/3 in 50 overs (Shubman Gill 143, Mayank Agarwal 120, Suryakumar Yadav 72 not out, Hanuma Vihari 1/48, Ravichandran Ashwin 1/57, Ravi Bishnoi 1/57) beat India A 134 all out in 29.5 overs (Devdutt Padikkal 31, Bhargav Merai 30, Ishan Kishan 25, Jalaj Saxena 7/41, Ishan Porel 2/12, Dhawal Kulkarni 1/29)