Kalaburagi: The constituency of Kalaburagi is a key one among the 28 in Karnataka. Veteran Congress leader Mallikarjun Kharge faces his former colleague and now arch-rival Umesh Jadhav in the Lok Sabha election battle.

Previously known as Gulbarga, Kalaburagi is a stronghold of Kharges (Mallikarjun Kharge and son Priyank Kharge).

In 2014, Mallikarjun Kharge defeated BJP's Revu Naik Belamagi by a margin of 74,733 votes. Apart from this, Mallikarjun Kharge has as won the assembly election for a record 10 consecutive terms from 1972 to 2009.

But Umesh Jadhav who was a Congressman alleged that senior Kharge and his son Priyank Kharge were controlling Kalaburagi and not allowing anyone to grow. After expressing his disappointment, Chicholi MLA Jadhav quit Congress on March 4. He joined the BJP two days later and was given a ticket to contest against Kharge in Kalaburagi.

With a strong base of supporters, Jadhav is expected to give Kharge stiff competition but considering the latter's records and his stronghold on the constituency, Kharge is likely to win the election.

Kalaburagi Lok Sabha constituency includes Afzalpur, Jewargi, Gurmitkal, Chittapur, Sedam, Kalaburgi Rural, Kalaburgi Dakshin, Kalaburgi Uttar Assembly seats.